On behalf of the Fathers’ Club of St. Stephen’s and St. Agnes School, welcome to the 61st Annual Sleepy Thompson Basketball Tournament.

The Fathers’ Club, supporter of Saints athletic programs and events on all three school campuses, is honored and proud to host this 61st anniversary event. This tournament is both a high school basketball tradition and a very special event on the St. Stephen’s and St. Agnes school calendar. Lower, Middle, and Upper School students, families, faculty and staff come together for three days to show school unity and spirit, and to appreciate hard competition and sportsmanship. The atmosphere in Goodwin Gym for these games will capture the very best of high school basketball: intensity, competition, and enthusiastic school spirit.

Year after year the tournament features great teams and some of the best games of the season. Enjoy these three days of high energy tournament basketball. Eight teams playing every day for the Sleepy Thompson championship trophy!

First Round – Thursday, November 29th

Thursday, 3pm – Maret defeats Trinity Episcopal 69-47
Thursday, 5pm – Episcopal defeats Bishop Sullivan 69-50
Thursday, 7pm – St. Stephen’s & St. Agnes defeats T.C. Williams 81-61
Thursday, 9pm – Benedictine defeats Carmel 54-47

Second Round – Friday, November 30th

Friday, 3pm – Bishop Sullivan defeats Trinity Episcopal 76-63
Friday, 5pm – Carmel defeats T.C. Williams 70-65
Friday, 7pm – Episcopal defeats Maret 81-52
Friday, 9pm – St. Stephen’s & St. Agnes defeats Benedictine 93-40

Third Round – Saturday, December 1st

Saturday, 11am – Trinity Episcopal defeats T.C. Williams 65-50
Saturday, 1pm – Bishop Sullivan defeats Carmel 59-50
Saturday, 3pm – Maret defeats Benedictine 57-47
Saturday, 5pm – St. Stephen’s & St. Agnes defeats Episcopal 89-58

Individual Awards

Richard P. Babyak Most Valuable Player Award
Charles Thompson, SSSAS

The Reverend Emmett H. Hoy, Jr., D.D. Sportsmanship Award
Benedictine College Preparatory

Fred Templeton Coach’s Award
Mike Jones, SSSAS

Lee Barbash Foul Shooting Award
Xavier Johnson, Episcopal

Patrick McCarthy Outstanding Defensive Player Award
Xavier Lipscomb, SSSAS

All-Tournament Team

  • Jaquan Johnson, T.C. Williams
  • Josh Campbell, Carmel
  • Henry Coleman, Trinity Episcopal
  • Kenan Sarvan, Bishop Sullivan
  • EJ Jarvis, Maret
  • Xavier Johnson, Episcopal
  • Darius Johnson, Episcopal
  • Christian DePollar, SSSAS
  • Xavier Lipscomb, SSSAS
  • Charles Thompson, SSSAS
Tournament Officials
TRAINERS Melanie Stanton, Head Athletic Trainer
Patrick Frost
Allyson Nagle
SCORER John Preston
TIMERS Jake Currie
Larry Jenney
Chip Phillips
JUDGES Chris Dyson
Mike Pascal
John Delnegro